Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 2022 FIBArk Whitewater Festival celebrated some of the nation’s best river athletes, runners and assorted craziness June 16-19, honoring the original 1949 event that took six boats from Salida to Cañon City.

Much has changed since the original event, with expanded water and on-foot events, music and carnival rides drawing standing-room-only crowds to downtown Salida.

Race Results

On land, Salida’s Elijah Wilcox took home the top Triple Crown honors between the Tenderfoot Mountain Hill Climb and the Road and Trail 10K races. With a total 1:29:37, he edged out fellow Salidan Jeason Murphy with Bean Minor of Howard in a very close third. In the women’s Triple Crown, Sarah Robinette of Fort Collins took top honors in 2:19:15 total, followed by Cheryl Doughty of Colorado Springs and Jillian Bare of Salida. Winners in the specific foot races were:

5K Road Race overall: Izayah Baxter, Jack Burger, Katie Fankhouser and Patrick Kelley. Women’s Division: Katie Fankhauser, Kathleen Stewart and Kristine Clark.

Salida Circus stilt walker striding down F Street during 2022 FIBArk Parade. Dan Smith photo

10K Road Race overall: Elijah Wilcox, Kenny Wilcox and Jeason Murphy. Women’s Division: Maddie Livingston, Kristina Ciarlo, and Lexi Schmidt.

10K Trail Run overall: Jeason Murphy, Elijah Wilcox and Bean Minor. Women’s Division: Jamie Kruis, Caitlyn Vestal and Kirsten Turner.

Tenderfoot Hill Climb Men: Elijah Wilcox, Bean Minor, Jeason Murphy. Women: Nora Paschall, Sophie Haynes, Meghan Newlin.

On the water, the competition was keen, with Alex Perkin taking the top place in the Downriver Marathon in 31:44. He was followed by Tim Kunin and Bobby Lewis. In the Open Raft division, Team Lily Dippers took top bragging rights in 4:24:45.

Women’s Surf: Izzy Hughes, Chloe Harvey, Izzy Krompegal-Anliker.

Men’s Surf: Miles Harvey, Mike Tavares, Aiden Urbine.

SUP Downriver Men: Spencer Lacy, Miles Harvey, Mike Tavares. Women: Rebecca Gidens, Reta Boychuk, Mallene Dressel.

SUP Dual Slalom, Men’s Final: Miles Harvey, Mike Tavares, Bradley Hilton. Women: Rebecca Giddens, Mallene Dressel, Chloe Harvey.

Skillz 4 Billz Men’s Final: Miles Harvey, Spencer Lacy, Bradley Hilton. Women: Rebecca Giddens, Reta Boychuk, Michelle Atkins.

Competitors got time to practice their skills prior to competition during FIBArk 2022. Photo by Jan Wondra

Colorado SUP Championships Men: Miles Harvey, Spencer Lacy, Mike Tavares. Women: Rebecca Giddens, Reta Boychuk, Mallane Dressel.

Slalom Races: See for the extensive results.

The top three entrees in this year’s Raft Rodeo were Pink Elephant, Garden Club and the Rodeo Clowns.

Raft Sprint: Rick & Blake, Team Astral and Romper Rage.

Featured image: Some of the chaos that ensued at the Raft Rodeo event at Whitewater Park during FIBArk 2022. Dan Smith photo.