Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Chaffee County Community Foundation (CCCF) leadership and board members joined with the Community First Foundation Aug. 13 in Salida to train 15 nonprofits to help meet eligibility requirements for Colorado Gives Day 2019.  The session followed a similar one, a day earlier in Buena Vista, where another dozen nonprofits came together to learn about participating.  Starting this year, the statewide Colorado Gives Day event will include a dedicated web page for Chaffee County, called Chaffee GIVES, highlighting local nonprofits in detailed profiles.

CCCF’s Joseph Teipel (left) celebrates with local nonprofits and Community First Foundation’s Dana Rinderknecht, (front row, far right)  (Photo by Taylor Sumners)

In a press release, CCCF provided background to the 24-hour giving event set to take place Dec. 10, 2019: “Since its inception in 2007, has raised over $296 million for Colorado nonprofits. Chaffee County donors have routinely participated, but this year, as a regional partner, we intend to raise awareness and help increase the amount of giving to local nonprofits.”

The release from CCCF continued, “ is a year-round community hub for philanthropy across the state. provides comprehensive, objective and up-to-date information about nonprofits and an easy way [for donors] to support them online.”

A presentation from Dana Rinderknecht, the director of online giving at the Community First Foundation provided information on their organization and how Colorado Gives Day operates.  Also, she showed the benefits of working with them, so eligible nonprofits can develop a page and profile for their own fundraising needs, promoting growth and awareness.

The deadline for nonprofits to meet the eligibility requirements for participation in 2019 will be Aug. 31 at 5 p.m. Information about future meetings will be covered in Ark Valley Voice, leading up the opening of the Chaffee Gives web page and later, the Dec. 10 event. CCCF can be contacted through their website or by emailing Joseph Teipel, Executive Director: