Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Colorado Senate Democratic caucus today elected Steve Fenberg (D-Boulder) to serve as the next President of the Colorado Senate, and Dominick Moreno (D-Commerce City) to serve as the next Majority Leader. Sen. Rachel Zenzinger (D-Arvada) was subsequently elected to serve on the Joint Budget Committee (JBC).

Outgoing Senate President Leroy Garcia (D-Pueblo) is stepping down as leader of the Colorado Senate to take an appointment at the Pentagon.

Colorado State Senate Chambers. Image by Flickr

“I’m honored to have the support of my colleagues as I step into this new role, and I am humbled by this opportunity to serve the Senate and the State of Colorado in a new capacity,” said Fenberg.

“Clearly I have big shoes to fill, but I’m confident that my experience in the legislature and the lessons I’ve learned working with President Garcia have prepared me to successfully navigate this transition and hit the ground running,” he added. “Our new leadership team is well-equipped to achieve our vision for the future of the state, and I’m excited to help this caucus deliver results for the people of Colorado.”

“Serving the people of Colorado has been the honor of a lifetime, and I am incredibly excited to continue serving in my new role as Majority Leader,” Moreno said. “I am humbled by the confidence my colleagues have placed in me. I look forward to helping lead this caucus and to moving Colorado forward together.”

“I am thrilled to have this opportunity to rejoin the Joint Budget Committee at this particularly important moment,” Zenzinger said. “I believe my previous experience will make this transition a smooth one for the JBC, and the entire legislature will benefit. I look forward to doing my part to craft a sensible budget that meets the needs of our state.”

“Serving as President of the Colorado Senate has been the greatest honor of my lifetime, and I am humbled to have had this opportunity to lead,” said Garcia. “This dynamic and diverse leadership team has the experience and vision necessary to lead this caucus with dignity and honor, and I know they have what it takes to get the job done and move Colorado forward.”

Chaffee County is represented by District 3 Senator Kerry Donovan, who is term limited. Candidates are beginning to line up to run for the seat in the Nov. 2022 election.