Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Today, Governor Jared Polis announced a new special recognition for 21 schools across the state that have demonstrated strong growth in student achievement since 2019. In this area the Lake County Intermediate School was honored.

The selected schools have demonstrated excellence and the ability to advance learning through challenging times. These schools will receive the Governor’s Bright Spot award and $50,000 of Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds to go towards investments such as expanding student resources, faculty development, preparing and preventing public health emergencies, and other opportunities that will benefit students’ learning experiences.

“Congratulations to these schools that have shown strong improvements in results despite the pandemic, and to all those that worked to advance students’ learning over the last three years,” said Polis. “The unprecedented challenges schools faced through the pandemic were difficult to navigate but, your schools, teachers, and communities showed incredible resilience and I am honored to highlight you all.”

The criteria was developed to highlight schools across the state that excelled through challenges caused by the pandemic and ensured their students progressed. To qualify for the award, schools must have advanced more than two bands on their performance framework since 2019. The use of funds will be determined by each school. Examples of eligible uses of funds include increased mental and behavioral health or tutoring services, preparation and prevention strategies for future health emergencies, faculty development opportunities, or school improvements.

Sarah Roberts is a social worker at the Lake County Intermediate School. She’s been juggling her own mental health along with her students’ this year. Image courtesy of Sarah Roberts.

The 21 schools receiving the Governor’s Bright Spot Award are below:

  • Alicia Sanchez International School
  • Grand Mesa Choice Academy
  • RiseUp Community School
  • STRIVE Prep – Westwood
  • Swansea Elementary School
  • Farrell B. Howell ECE-8 School
  • Cole Arts and Science Academy
  • DSST: Cole Middle School
  • Madison Elementary School
  • Brady Exploration School
  • Welchester Elementary School
  • Lake County Intermediate School
  • Chatfield Elementary School
  • Bookcliff Middle School
  • Bill Metz Elementary School
  • Heritage Elementary School
  • Franklin School of Innovation
  • Irving Elementary School
  • Rocky Mountain Elementary School
  • Fort Lupton High School
  • Sherrelwood Elementary School

“I look forward to seeing how you utilize the funding to keep uplifting your students and advance learning,” added Polis. “Investing in education ensures Colorado youth are able to thrive and access the high-quality education they deserve. Thank you to all the faculty, teachers, and loved ones who support students and their learning experiences.”