Print Friendly, PDF & Email

On Monday, Governor Jared Polis convened the Congressional Redistricting Commission, pursuant to section 44.2(1)(a) of Article V of the Colorado Constitution. The 12-member commission is bipartisan; including representation from Republicans, Democrats, and unaffiliated registered voters.

The Commission will be responsible for determining the boundaries for Colorado’s Congressional districts and may be tasked with determining the boundaries for an 8th district, dependent upon reapportionment data from the federal government. The work will be done based upon the U.S. Census results, which track “the whole number of persons” within the boundaries  of a state, and counties within states.

“The twelve individuals chosen are uniquely positioned to discharge this duty in light of their combined skills and backgrounds, and they represent a diversity of viewpoints and life experiences that even the best-intentioned professional staff cannot replicate,” said Governor Polis.

Colorado State Capitol. Photo courtesy of Pixabay.

The members of the Commission are:

  • Jolie Brawner (U, CD 1)
  • Martha Coleman (D, CD 2)
  • Moussa Diawara (U, CD 5)
  • Paula Espinoza (D, CD 4)
  • Carly Hare (U, CD 4)
  • Jason Kelly (R, CD 3)
  • William Leone (R, CD 7)
  • Danny Moore (R, CD 6)
  • Lori Smith Schell (U, CD 3)
  • Julie Marie Shepherd Macklin (R, CD 6)
  • Simon Tafoya (D, CD 1)
  • Elizabeth Wilkes (D, CD 5)

The Governor appointed Carly Hare as the temporary chair of the Commission until members elect a chair, vice-chair, and other officers.

Pursuant to section 44.4 of Article V of the Colorado Constitution, the Commission must complete public regional hearings on the preliminary plan by July 7. It must adopt a final plan to be submitted to the Colorado Supreme Court for its consideration by September 1.

Further information about the Commission’s work can be found at